Perez Honored as Runner of the Year as All-HVIAC Women's Cross Country Team Announced

Perez Honored as Runner of the Year as All-HVIAC Women's Cross Country Team Announced

NEW YORK — SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry freshman Abby Perez (Queens, N.Y.) was picked as the Hudson Valley Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Runner of the Year as the 2019 All-HVIAC Women's Cross Country Team was announced today.

Perez finished second overall in her first collegiate race and continued her strong start, finishing fifth overall out of over 200 runners at Roberts Wesleyan and came in first at the Hamilton College Invite while setting a new school record for 5K time (18:43), previously held by last year's HVIAC Women's Cross Country Runner of the Year Marissa Lathrop.

Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences freshman Marina Duszak was named Rookie of the Year after a third-place finish at the HVIAC Championships helping the Panthers to their first team victory at the Championships since 2016.

Guiding SUNY ESF sophomore Rachel Joyce to an individual victory at the HVIAC Championships and leading the Mighty Oaks to defend their 2018 USCAA National Championship victory, head coach Mike Melfi and assistant coaches Todd Halbig and Hannah Anthes were named Coaching Staff of the Year.

The HVIAC Runner of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Coach of the Year are selected by the women's cross country coaches in the conference prior to the HVIAC Championships based on performance during the regular season.

# # #

Amber Cina Albany Pharmacy Jr.  
Toni Daino SUNY ESF Jr. Johnson City, N.Y.
Gianna D'Angelo *** Albany Pharmacy Sr. Portland, Conn.
Marina Duszak % Albany Pharmacy Fr.  
Andrea Gil Berkeley Jr. Paterson, N.J.
Kathleen Hanrahan Albany Pharmacy Fr.  
Monica Hayes Berkeley So. Staten Island, N.Y.
Rachel Joyce SUNY ESF So. Wallingford, Conn.
Patricia Romano Albany Pharmacy Fr.  
Marcella Valencia Berkeley So. Clifton, N.J.

*** Denotes 2016, 2017, and 2018 All-Conference Team selection  

% Denotes 2019 Rookie of the Year

Runner of the Year - Abby Perez (SUNY ESF)
Rookie of the Year - Marina Duszak (Albany Pharmacy)
Coaching Staff of the Year - Mike Melfi, Todd Halbig, Hannah Anthes (SUNY ESF)