All-HVIAC Men's Basketball Team Announced; Schenkel Named Player of the Year

All-HVIAC Men's Basketball Team Announced; Schenkel Named Player of the Year

NEW ROCHELLE, N.Y. — The College of New Rochelle junior Hunter Schenkel (Sayville, N,Y./Sayville) was named the Hudson Valley Intercollegiate Athletic Conference men's basketball Player of the Year as the league announced the members of the All-HVIAC Men's Basketball Team at the start of the 2019 HVIAC Tournament at The College of New Rochelle.

Schenkel ranked second in the league in scoring with 21.6 points a night and 3.2 three-pointers made per game. The three-time Player of the Week set a program record scoring 40 points in a game and repeated it a week later against first-place Berkeley.

A one-time Rookie of the Week, Culinary Institute of America freshman Christian Castanho (Rocky Hill, Conn.) was selected as the league's Rookie of the Year after leading all rookies with 16.9 points per game in league play and 18.2 points a game overall, which ranks third in the league.

In total, 14 men received All-Conference recognition for outstanding play throughout the season and six are repeat honorees.

Guiding Davis College to their best finish since joining the league four seasons ago, Head Coach Dan Rathmell and Assistant Coaches Antonio Goodridge, Nate Fox, James Head, and Moni Anderson were selected as Coaching Staff of the Year.

The HVIAC All-Conference Team, Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Coaching Staff of the Year are selected by the conference's men's basketball coaches based on regular season conference play.


Player of the Year - Hunter Schenkel (New Rochelle)
Rookie of the Year - Christian Castanho (Culinary)
Coaching Staff of the Year - Davis College

Ricardo Ayuso * Berkeley Sr. G Brooklyn, N.Y.
Naythan Beltran Albany Pharmacy Jr.   Reading, Pa.
Benjamin Borchelt * King's Sr.   Riva, Md.
Deylon Bovell Berkeley Jr. G Brooklyn, N.Y.
Christian Castanho Culinary Fr.   Rocky Hill, Conn.
Elijah Harris * New Rochelle Jr. G Flushing, N.Y.
Jackson Henri * Davis Jr.   Miami, Fla.
Kyle Matousek Albany Pharmacy Sr.   Jordan-Elbridge, N.Y.
Kermarlie Mclean * Vaughn So. G Brooklyn, N.Y.
Glen O'Loughlin New Rochelle Jr. F/C Yorktown Heights, N.Y.
Cole Paradies SUNY ESF So.   Oswego, N.Y.
Hunter Schenkel * New Rochelle Jr. F/G Sayville, N.Y.
Shamiek Sheppard Berkeley Sr. G Brooklyn, N.Y.
Kelvin Tompkins Davis Jr.   South Miami, Fla.

* Denotes 2017-18 All-Conference Team Selection