All-HVIAC Men's Basketball Team Announced; Johnson Named Player of the Year

All-HVIAC Men's Basketball Team Announced; Johnson Named Player of the Year

NEW ROCHELLE, N.Y. — Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences senior Alex Johnson (Malone, N.Y.) was named the Hudson Valley Intercollegiate Athletic Conference men's basketball Player of the Year as the league announced the members of the All-HVIAC Men's Basketball Team at the start of the 2018 HVIAC Tournament at The College of New Rochelle.

Johnson averaged 16.9 points (5th in league) and 9.5 rebounds (2nd in league) in conference play while recording four double-doubles. The one-time Player of the Week honoree also connected on nearly half his attempts finishing at a 49.6 percent shooting clip.

Davis College freshman Anthony Gathings (Oswego, Ill.) was selected as the league's Rookie of the Year after posting averages of 16.7 points (7th in league) and 5.1 rebounds in league play, highlighted by a 35-point, 14-rebound double-double in a win over Pratt. 

In total, 15 men received All-Conference recognition for outstanding play throughout the season and two are repeat honorees.

Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Head Coach Brett Barnard was tapped the league’s Coach of the Year.

The HVIAC All-Conference Team, Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Coach of the Year are selected by the conference's men's basketball coaches based on regular season conference play.

Player of the Year -  Alex Johnson (Albany Pharmacy)
Rookie of the Year - Anthony Gathings (Davis)
Coach of the Year - Brett Barnard (Albany Pharmacy)

Ricardo Ayuso Berkeley Jr. G Brooklyn, N.Y.
Benjamin Borchelt King's Jr.   Riva, Md.
Jaylin Gray New Rochelle Fr. G Brooklyn, N.Y.
Johnnie Green * Berkeley Sr. F/C Brooklyn, N.Y.
Elijah Harris New Rochelle So. G Flushing, N.Y.
Jackson Henri Davis So.   Miami, Fla.
Alex Johnson * Albany Pharmacy Sr. Malone, N.Y.
Tyler Kuhn SUNY ESF Sr. C Oneida, N.Y.
Kermarlie Mclean Vaughn Fr. G Brooklyn, N.Y.
James Morel Vaughn Fr. F Woodhaven, N.Y.
Aaron Ruzinsky Culinary Fr. G Houston, Texas
Hunter Schenkel New Rochelle So. F/G Sayville, N.Y.
Michael Taylor Berkeley Sr. G Brooklyn, N.Y.
Brandon Votra Albany Pharmacy Sr. C Saint Regis Falls, N.Y.
Andrew Yaglenski Pratt Sr. G Frederick, Md.

* Denotes 2016-17 All-Conference Team Selection